POETRY BY A LADY

FROM THE SYDNEY GAZETTE AND NSW ADVERTISER THURSDAY 13 NOVEMBER 1823

s40 

original poetry  – by a lady.

Thou bid’st me deck my face in smiles

That wears a heart so sad;

Thou bid’st me court gay pleasure’s wiles,

When nought can make me glad.

 

How can I wear a chaplet gay,

Of fancy’s brightest flow’rs?

Or sing a merry roundelay,

And dance away the hours?

 

A smile of grief is all I know,

Of gloomy sorrow born;

A with’ring sense of bitter woe,

O’erpow’rs this heart forlorn.

 

I’ll pluck the gloomy cypress tree

To dress my aching brows;

“Twill make a garland met for me,

“Twined with the dark death rose.

 

No strains of mirth my notes employ,

To hasten time’s dull wing;

For ev’ry lost departed joy,

I mournful requiems sing.

SIDNIA.

http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article2182371

Leave a Reply

